C.L. Baker Award


About the C.L. Baker Award

This award, given for the first time in 2020, honors the legacy of the late C. L. Baker (1939-1997) and is funded by a generous gift from his family. The winner receives a $500 honorarium and will be recognized at the Awards Ceremony at the LSA Annual Meeting. 


Every second year - next award 2026 LSA Annual Meeting.


The C.L. Baker Award recognizes excellence in research in the area of syntactic theory on the part of a scholar who is at the mid-point of a distinguished career. The typical nominee will be between 3 and 10 years post-tenure. However, stellar atypical candidates will also be seriously considered. Nominees should be members of the LSA at the time the prize is awarded.

The prize is intended to recognize a distinguished and still unfolding research record in syntax, one which meets the following criteria:

  • It has had significant impact,
  • It is forward-looking and innovative,
  • It is empirically careful, and
  • It engages the larger intellectual context for research on human language and goes beyond the merely technical in its analyses and proposals.

C.L. (Lee) Baker, shown here with wife Mary Baker
(photo credit: Brian Price)



Previous Awardees

2024: Jessica Coon (McGill University)
2022: Vera Gribanova (Stanford University)
2020: Jon Sprouse (University of Connecticut)